Southern Belle Contemplates: Missing Her

Two weeks ago an Anniversary passed without a passing glance.  It was not a Wedding Anniversary or a Dating Anniversary or even a Work Anniversary.  It was the Anniversary of the death of someone I loved.  My Aunt and friend.  I can’t believe it has been nine years now since she left us.  So much has changed in those 9 years.  She has 2 granddaughters now and a grandson on the way.  She has two wonderful daughter-in-laws.  I see her smile every time I look at the four year old’s smile.  Every time the eleven year old does something to make us laugh I know my Aunt would have just eaten it up.  She’s her step-granddaughter but she would not have let that four letter world change the way she felt about her.  The girls going to Disney for the first time together would have been the icing on the cake for my Aunt.  It brought a tear to my eye.  I miss her everyday but the pain in less then that day in October 2004.

Leave a Reply

